Bracken Battlefield

The final round of the 2019 ACU Belle Trailers Youth National series was held at the famous Bracken Rocks venue in Derbyshire. Several Championship titles were up for grabs, and the riders in each class came in knowing what they needed to do to come out on top.

Traditionally, the final round is a tougher event, aimed at sorting out the positions. On this occasion, the sections were on the easier side, giving added pressure on riders to stay focussed through the day. In each class, the title contenders stayed almost exclusively in single digits on each loop, even with some silly fives thrown in.

In the D Class small wheels the likely champion was either Jacob Wilson from the Isle of Man, or Mason Crawford from Northern Ireland. Mason came into the event leading, and knowing he needed a first or second place to be assured the Championship. Jacob knew he had to win, with Mason 4th or lower to take the crown. Both riders deserve enormous credit for their performances under such pressure. Both did exactly what they had to do. On lap one, Mason, Jacob, and Bobby Crabtree all dropped 7 points. On lap two Jacob had a fantastic clean lap, with Mason improving to 4 and Bobby on another 7. On the final lap, Mason started with a 5 on section 1, which he had cleaned on the previous lap. Jacob then fived section 6. The pressure was getting to them perhaps! Mason, Jacob and Bobby all had their worst laps with 9 points. A late charge from Edwyn James with a 6 point final lap and Tom Gibbins with 8 was not enough to climb the podium… but was close!

After all the drama, the win on the day went to Jacob Wilson, with Mason taking second, and Bobby third. Well done to all! The Championship went to the ever-smiling Mason Crawford – the 2019 D class National Champion! All riders in this class deserve a pat on the back. Once again, the OSET 20.0R proved its mettle and was the bike of choice for all contenders.

The same is not true in the medium wheel classes, where petrol 80cc machines prevail. The one exception in 2019 was Elliot Smith on his OSET 24.0 in the C class. Elliot came into the final round having won 5 of the previous rounds - and needing a 4th or better to take the title. The Isle of Man’s Stanley Cubbon needed a win to put on some pressure, and came away from lap one on 5, with Elliot close behind on 6. On lap two, Stanley faltered with 12, while Elliot also made some mistakes for 8. On the final lap, Stanley carded 8, while Elliot studied the challenging sections again, and it paid off for a 4 point loop. So, in the end, Elliot won with a 7 point margin over Stanley, and took OSET’s 9th National title. Credit also to Matilda Arbon, who was not far behind and took the final podium position!

IMG 2584IMG 2602

Well done also to all in the older groups – with top positions, as always – filled by ex-OSET riders. Roll on 2020!